TOTAL NOOB! (advice)

Peels

hello all! pretty new to boats, nut not new to machine forums... :thumb:

sold out of my atv hobby (yamaha raptors) so I can get my family into boating.

Had one as youngster...but that was when I had no responsibility... :) Then we rented one on vacation, and we had a blast! so here we are...

We are Going to look at a boat this weekend. Our requirements were: smaller(easy towing), no big engine, 8 passenger bowrider. And as new as possible, preferably under 10k for the first boat....not wanting to get in over my head...

The one that met all those....Im lookin at...It is a 2004 glastron 175 sx. 3.0 mercruiser. VERY nice machine. We are putting it in the water...of course.

Everything works, but the tachometer. Is that a sign to run away? I guess I'm wondering if there is anything brand/engine specific I need to be wary of when looking. besides obvious...overheating/sputtering/difficult starting. and all that jazz. These things are a smidge more complicated than an atv engine.... which I could rebuild in an afternoon... :)

thanks all for any advice!!!! Looking forward to the new hobby.

-Eric

Sean

Hey Eric,
Welcome here! I've only been around here a short time but, It's a good place.
I'm sure some of the guys will chyme in on you questions.

Cheers,
Sean

nathan

Welcome, the tach not working can be as easy as a loose wire or bad ground. so no a non working tach is not a reason to run. Boat motor are just a beefed up car motor. Glastron makes a great boat. If you have worries about the boat after the test run have it looked at by a boat accessor or mechanic. if the seller will not allow you to have it accessed then run.

Peels

thanks folks.

We are new boat owners now :) Pretty excited...

VERY nice family was selling it, took us out for a spin. put it through its paces...and settled on a great price.