different kind of prop question

Peels

OMG there is too much kaka on the web about this topic. so lets add to it LOL

anyways, we had two nice days to get out and use it after buying in the fall finally! LOVE IT! spent all day polishing the gelcoat. looks brand new!

to the question...when we bought our boat. 2004 glastron sx175, 3liter merc.
it came with a "spare" prop, which is actually the stock one. it is 14.5" 19p.

On it in its place, is a Michigan wheel company "rapture" SS prop. it is 14.25 19p.

My question is, what did the previous owner "gain" by doing this?

To me... (new to boats) it feels faster outta the hole than Id expect. but it maxes out at 36mph. And thats at a sh*tload of RPM..... would I add speed and kill acceleration by slappin the stocker on there? In my noob head, a larger diameter prop would mean more drag but more thrust.

it feels "lurchy" outta the gate too...and when docking.

these arent really complaints, as I am new to this...I really don't care mostly...

just information gathering here. As I pick up experience, i'm sure it wont matter much.... :)

nathan

if you are not at max rpms then you can go smaller but you will reach the max rpms quicker. if you go bigger it may hurt the hole shot but it should give you more MPH but you do not want to go too high and not turn enough rpms

Peels

thanks for the explanation.

makes sense. feel like the analogy of putting smaller tires on your car is somewhat similar.

works a little less hard at low rpm, with less mass to spin, so less resistance.

If Im bored one day ill slap on the stocker and see what happens. :)

just that the SS looks cooler-which is also important. LOL

Peels

also....

my apologies for slapping this in the wrong subforum ;)

I didnt even see the correct one in the technical section...

<N00B>

Tablerocker