hot brakes on my trailer

elojs

Can somebody tell me why my trailer brakes get real hot. Can't touch the drums cause they're to hot.the first time I took the boat out I started out ok but then it seemed to get heavyer, harder to pull.I changed brake fluid and bled the brakes but the more I drive the tighter the brakes get.I 'll drive about six or seven blocks then start to smell the brakes getting hot.
So I'll bleed the brakes and everything will be fine for awhile then they start to tighten up again. anybody have any Idias

Chris

Administrator
Staff member
Hi elojs, welcome to the forums.

I gather you have surge brakes?

Are they discs or drums?

-Chris

elojs

I may have switched the hitch ball because I have three recievers for my boat ,camper trailer and utility trailer.The hitch on my boat is a titan surge type.I wonder if I have a bad master cylinder on the trailer. And by the way I didn't take my boat out at all last year.

Fun Times

I may have switched the hitch ball because I have three recievers for my boat ,camper trailer and utility trailer.The hitch on my boat is a titan surge type.I wonder if I have a bad master cylinder on the trailer. And by the way I didn't take my boat out at all last year.